You are here: Home / Programs / European Region / East European

The East European Regional Committee Programs

The East European Regional Committee is a division of the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation created to promote Chinese Studies in Eastern Europe. The following grants are available to scholars and institutes of the following countries: Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Serbia-Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Russia (St. Petersburg State University and Russian Academy of Sciences), and Ukraine.

Scholars and students from these regions are encouraged to apply for other Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation grants for the European Region.

The members of the Regional Committee are: Professors Olga Lomová (Czech Republic), Jana Benická (Slovakia), Imre Hamar (Hungary), Mitja Saje (Slovenia), Lidia Kasarello (Poland), Irina Popova (Russia), with Professor Susanne Weigelin-Schwiedrzik of Vienna University serving in an advisory position.

With the exception of graduate student and faculty mobility grants, the deadline for all applications is October 15. No late applications will be accepted. Final results will be announced in early June.

1. Library Acquisitions
2. Research Grants
3. Publication Subsidies
4. Conference and Seminar Grants
5. Visiting Professorships
6. Graduate Student and Faculty Mobility Grants
7. Graduate Student Workshops

Note on funding: Grants are not paid directly to individuals but to the universities and institutes where they are based. Overhead charges taken by the institution should not exceed 5% of the grant. Financial administration is made directly from the Foundation's Taipei headquarters. For any questions please email:

● Final reports

Applications must be submitted to our online application database. Applications may be submitted every year from August 1 (to start the application process, please click here).